Badge of Honor

10ivi

This badge was designed by Miss Eulora Miller of LaFayette, Indiana, and at the reunion of the regiment at Lebanon, Indiana, September 19, 1885, was adopted as the regimental badge. 10th IND.is on the eagles breast. Abbreviation for 3rd Division, 3rd Brigade, Army of the Cumberland on the acorn.

About 40thindiana

I was born and raised a Hoosier, growing up in the small town of Waveland, Indiana. I started to get an intrest in the Amercian Civil War at a very young age. As I became older and did some research I found that I had four grandfathers who were soldiers in the conflict. Three of them were in the Union Army and one served in the Confederate Army. I am the father of three sons who are starting to ask questions about their family during the Civil War. As fate would have it, my wife had four grandfathers who served also. Three in the Union Army and one in the Confederate Army. This blog is going to be used for a historcial record of soldiers who served from Montgomery County, Indiana and to my family members who served thru those four years of war. I hope that this blog will do a service for those doing family research. Most of all, this blog is for my sons, a record their family and the community that they live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment